News Flash

Latest News

Posted on: November 20, 2023

Fayetteville City Council adopts 2023 municipal election results

COF logo seal  black outline 300px

The Fayetteville City Council during its November 16 regular meeting adopted the results of the November 7 municipal elections, which included the Mayor’s seat as well as the Post 1 and Post 2 City Council seats.

Mayor Ed Johnson, who was first elected mayor in 2015, was unopposed in his reelection bid. Post 1 Council Member Darryl Langford, first elected in 2019, also ran unopposed. Post 2 Council Member Joe Clark, first elected in 2019, was opposed by Cathy Vaught, with Clark receiving 1,000 votes to Vaught’s 499. Johnson, Langford, and Clark will continue to serve through 2027.

Fayetteville City Council members serve staggered four-year terms. The seats held by council members Scott Stacy (Post 3), Rich Hoffman (Post 4), and Niyah Glover (Post 5), will be up for election in 2025.