Elections & Voter Registration

Fayetteville City Council adopts 2023 municipal election results

Fayetteville, Georgia – November 17, 2023 – The Fayetteville City Council during its November 16 regular meeting adopted the results of the November 7 municipal elections, which included the Mayor’s seat as well as the Post 1 and Post 2 City Council seats.

Mayor Ed Johnson, who was first elected mayor in 2015, was unopposed in his reelection bid. Post 1 Council Member Darryl Langford, first elected in 2019, also ran unopposed. Post 2 Council Member Joe Clark, first elected in 2019, was opposed by Cathy Vaught, with Clark receiving 1,000 votes to Vaught’s 499. Johnson, Langford, and Clark will continue to serve through 2027.

Fayetteville City Council members serve staggered four-year terms. The seats held by council members Scott Stacy (Post 3), Rich Hoffman (Post 4), and Niyah Glover (Post 5), will be up for election in 2025.

The City of Fayetteville is committed to providing each citizen of the City of Fayetteville with the opportunity to exercise his or her right to vote in an efficient and equitable manner in accordance with the Constitutions of the United States and the Code of Georgia.

Fayette County Elections Office

City of Fayetteville, Georgia municipal elections are managed by the Fayette County, Georgia Elections Office. For more information, visit www.fayettecountyga.gov/elections, call 770-305-5408, or visit their offices at 175 Johnson Avenue, Fayetteville.

Georgia Secretary of State

www.sos.state.ga.us or 404-656-2871

Georgia Government Transparency and Campaign Finance Commission

www.ethics.ga.gov or 404-463-1980

View All