Become a Board Member

Fayetteville has several advisory boards that help in the guidance of the City. A description of each board can be found below.

Please download and complete the Board Member Application below to be considered for board membership. Submit completed applications to the City Clerk's Office.

Board Member Application (PDF)

Valerie Glass, City Clerk

Downtown Development Authority (DDA):

  • DDA Board consists of seven directors, to be appointed by the Mayor and approved by Council. Board members each serve a four (4) year term.
  • Meetings are held the third Wednesday of each month at 8:00am.
  • Directors shall reside in the City of Fayetteville and/or own or operate a business within the downtown development area of Fayetteville and live in Fayette County. One of such directors may be a member of the governing body of the municipal corporation. 
  • Not less than four of the directors must have an economic interest in the redevelopment and revitalization of the downtown development area.
  • Each director shall attend and complete at least eight hours of training on downtown development and redevelopment programs within the first 12 months of a director´s appointment to the downtown development authority. 
  • This is a volunteer board, however directors shall be reimbursed for actual expenses incurred by them in the performance of their duties.

(The DDA now serves as the full board of Main Street Fayetteville as of 1/2021)


Ethics Board:

  • Ethics Board consists of three members, one appointed by the mayor, one appointed by a majority vote of the City Council, and the other member appointed by the Mayor subject to approval by a majority of the City Council.
  • All members shall be residents of the City of Fayetteville and serve a two (2) year term.
  • The Ethics Board is available to hear conduct related concerns brought against elected officials or employees of the City of Fayetteville. The proper government and administration of the City of Fayetteville requires that its officials and employees be independent, impartial, and responsible; that governmental policies and decisions be made in the proper channels of the government structure; that public office and employment not be used for undue personal gain; and that the citizens of Fayetteville have confidence in the integrity of their government.
  • The Ethics Board meets annually or as deemed necessary.


Planning and Zoning Commission (P&Z):

  • The Planning and Zoning Commission consists of six members, to be appointed by the Mayor and approved by Council. Commission members serve for two (2) year terms. Post # 1, 3, 5 – begin terms on odd number years and Post # 2, 4, 6 – begin terms on even number years.
  • Meetings are held the fourth Tuesday of each month at 6:00pm.
  • Eligibility: Members of the Planning Commission must be residents of the City of Fayetteville.  Members may not hold any other public office, including public office within the City of Fayetteville, Fayette County, the State of Georgia, or federal government.
  • Members of the Planning Commission shall receive compensation for their services to the city.
  • As set forth in Section 2-172 of the City’s Code, the Planning Commission shall hear and act upon applications pursuant to procedures and standards established by the City Council.  The Planning Commission shall act upon applications for preliminary plat approval, phase approval of commercial and extension, enlargement, or continuation of nonconforming use, architectural and landscape plans, subject to Council’s right to review said decision and the applicant’s right to appeal the action of the Planning Commission to City Council.  The Planning Commission shall review, conduct public hearings, and make recommendations to Council on applications for annexations and rezoning.