Do I Live Within the Fayetteville City Limits?

Fayetteville City LimitsHaving a Fayetteville mailing address does not necessarily mean you live within the city limits.

The City of Fayetteville is surrounded entirely by unincorporated Fayette County, and in some places the city limits are located within close proximity to unincorporated Clayton County.  Residents within the city limits and many residents of unincorporated Fayette and Clayton counties have "Fayetteville 30214" or "Fayetteville 30215" mailing addresses because their mail is delivered from United States Post Office facilities located within the City of Fayetteville.

However, not all of these people are actually Fayetteville city residents.

At City Hall, we routinely receive phone calls and emails from residents within unincorporated Fayette County asking for city services based on their perception of living in "Fayetteville" or "the Fayetteville area." And while the City is here to serve everyone it can, some services can only come from the jurisdiction in which a resident actually lives.

To make matters more confusing, a few residents living within the city limits pay water bills to the Fayette County Water System because their home or neighborhood is served with a Fayette County supply line and not a Fayetteville line. As well, some unincorporated Fayette County residents, including some who live in the Chanticleer neighborhood, receive water from the City of Fayetteville. So clearly, it is not sufficient to say you know where you live based on who you pay for water service.

The best way to be sure of your property's jurisdiction is to check the official City of Fayetteville map and by using the Fayette County tax records search on the county's website.

Note: if your property is in "Tax District 01", it is in unincorporated Fayette County. If it is in "Tax District 02", it is in the City of Fayetteville. Peachtree City, Brooks, and Tyrone also have their own unique tax districts.

Tax Districts:

  • 01 = Fayette County
  • 02 = Fayetteville
  • 03 = Tyrone
  • 04 = Brooks
  • 05 = Peachtree City